PET

聚對苯二甲酸乙二醇酯聚對苯二甲酸乙二酯,英文簡稱PET或PETE,舊稱PETP或PET-P,是常見的一種熱塑性聚酯,用以製作衣服纖維、飲料品容器、食物包裝、熱成型及工程樹脂等。

其他簡稱包括Terylene(英國)、Lavsan(蘇聯時代或俄羅斯)及、Dacron(美國)。

全球大部分PET都用於生產合成纖維(超過60%),膠樽生產則約佔30%。 在紡織品應用中,PET通常稱作聚酯纖維,而PET則作為縮寫常見於包裝上。 聚酯纖維約佔世界聚合物產量的18%,是僅次於聚乙烯(PE),聚丙烯(PP)和聚氯乙烯(PVC)的第四名最高生產量聚合物。

PET由單體對苯二甲酸乙二酯的聚合單元和重複(C10H8O4)單元組成。 PET一般可進行回收,其塑膠分類標誌(樹脂識別代碼(RIC)是1號。

於2016年,每年生產PET每年的生產量估計為5600萬噸。 原則上,大多數熱塑性塑料膠都可以回收循環,但回收PET瓶比許多其他塑料塑膠膠效益更高,因為其樹脂價值很高,而且PET亦被廣泛使用於水和碳酸飲品容器包裝。 PET的塑膠分類標誌樹脂識別代碼是1號。再生PET的主要用途為生產聚酯纖維、紮帶和非食品容器。

而PET 亦有其他類別如PET-A, PET-C 及PET-G。 有關更多資料,可按此了解。

資料來源

說明

  • 水樽通常比碳酸飲品樽輕
  • 重量為香港所有品牌產品的平均值
NLP PET & HDPE

*屬香港回收過程中的污染物

HDPE

高密度聚乙烯 (HDPE) 或聚乙烯高密度(PEHD)是由單體乙烯生產的熱塑性聚合物。 當用於HDPE管道時,有時被稱為「alkathene」或「聚乙烯」。[1] HDPE高的強度密度比率高,可用於生產膠樽、防腐蝕管道、土工膜和塑料 塑膠木材。 HDPE可進行回收,其樹脂識別碼(RIC)為 2號。

通常用作清潔產品、散裝食品(如番茄醬)及個人護理產品(洗髮水和護髮素等)的容器。

2007年,HDPE全球市場產量達千萬噸。

資料來源

說明:

  • 因無標準容器尺寸,重量因產品而異
NLP HDPE

PET & HDPE 捆包純淨度

為確保公司營運的透明度,塑新生將會提供於收集過程中,所得及的已打包的PET 及& HDPE之 捆包打包成份,並披露提供準確數據。

NLP Purity HDPE

PET-A, PET-C 及 PET-G

PET正常是半結晶結構。透過熔化並突然冷卻的方法可製出透明度結構。在這個熔化及冷卻的過程中,分子鏈在熔化後來不及排成有序的結構,然後被「凍結」在無序狀態,這種 PET 被稱為 PET-A(非晶結構),是現時製造大多數飲料瓶、托盤和防撞罩的材料。如果能控制冷卻時間,讓PET有足夠時間重組,便會產生結晶結構的 PET-C。這兩種結構的物質在化學上完全相同。
故PET-A 和 PET-C都是可一同回收的。

PET-A 實際是暫停其結晶結構發生。如將其加熱至一定的溫度(約140度),結晶化便會開始,從而導致出現霧化情況,如應用於包裝上便不美觀了。當密封杯子保護膜被除去或使用 PET-A 以吸塑方法生產杯子和防撞罩,亦會出現此不美觀的霧化現象。另外,溶劑也可能引致結晶發生,亦令 PET-A 表面不合適作印刷的原因。

為了解決這個問題, PET-G便被開發出來。在製造過程中,乙二醇被加入到由 PET 製成的分子鏈中,令分子鏈更難構建並失去結晶能力。這種材質晶瑩剔透,可以進行加熱和打印,但不太適合生產瓶子用,而且 PET-G價格亦較昂貴。

PET-G 很難與其他 PET 區分出來。此外,基於成本因素,PET-G 通常與 PET-A 結合使用。由於 PET-G 在化學上與 PET-A 或 PET-C 不對應,因此很難將這兩種物質一起回收。由此可見,PET並不是只存有單一種類。

2個方法回應此回收問題

第一種回收方法是以化學方式處理 PET,即將塑料分解成分子單體,乙二醇便可以從 PET-G 中去除。以此化學方法進行回收需要收集大量的廢塑料,令投資成本大增。如果回收材料未能有長期的穩定供應及足夠數量,有關項目或成高危投資,增加失敗的風險。

第二種方法是不使用 PET-G 作為包裝材料,改用經加工的PP進行包裝,對回收效果會有更顯著的成效。

HDPE

高密度聚乙烯(HDPE)可以根據最終產品的製造過程細分為注塑級或擠出級兩個主要等級。

這兩個等級具有不同的熔融指數(MFI)和粘度特性。

注塑級的HDPE通常用作生產厚硬塑料製品,例如箱、桶等;擠出級HDPE的最終產品通常是薄膜、瓶子或片材。

相對於注塑級的rHDPE,一般從塑膠樽級別產生的rHDPE具較高的商業價值,用作生產管道及塑料包裝。

部份HDPE注塑產品於生產過程中會混入填充料及/或玻璃填充料,直接損害HDPE薄片的回收價值。

因此,在回收HDPE時,將該兩個等級分開是非常重要的。

PET

Polyethylene terephthalate (sometimes written poly(ethylene terephthalate)), commonly abbreviated PET, PETE, or the obsolete PETP or PET-P, is the most common thermoplastic polymer resin of the polyester family and is used in fibres for clothing, containers for liquids (soft drinks) and foods, thermoforming for manufacturing, and in combination with glass fibre for engineering resins.

It may also be referred to by the brand names Terylene in the UK,[5] Lavsan in Russia and the former Soviet Union, and Dacron in the US.

The majority of the world’s PET production is for synthetic fibres (in excess of 60%), with bottle production accounting for about 30% of global demand. In the context of textile applications, PET is referred to by its common name, polyester, whereas the acronym PET is generally used in relation to packaging. Polyester makes up about 18% of world polymer production and is the fourth-most-produced polymer after polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP) and polyvinyl chloride(PVC).

PET consists of polymerized units of the monomer ethylene terephthalate, with repeating (C10H8O4) units. PET is commonly recycled, and has the number “1” as its resin identification code (RIC).

In 2016, it was estimated that 56 million tons of PET are produced each year. While most thermoplastics can, in principle, be recycled, PET bottle recycling is more practical than many other plastic applications because of the high value of the resin and the almost exclusive use of PET for widely used water and carbonated soft drink bottling. PET has a resin identification code of 1. The prime uses for recycled PET are polyester fiber, strapping, and non-food containers.

PET does however have some sub-groups like PET-A, PET-C and PET-G. For more information on this pls click here.

Source

Notes

  • Water bottles tend to be lighter than carbonated bottles
  • Weights are averages across all brands in Hong Kong

*a contaminant in the HK mechanical recycling pathway

HDPE

High-density polyethylene (HDPE) or polyethylene high-density (PEHD) is a thermoplastic polymer produced from the monomer ethylene. It is sometimes called “alkathene” or “polythene” when used for HDPE pipes.[1] With a high strength-to-density ratio, HDPE is used in the production of plastic bottles, corrosion-resistant piping, geomembranes and plastic lumber. HDPE is commonly recycled, and has the number “2” as its resin identification code.

It is commonly used as containers for cleaning products, bulk food products – ketchups and the like, as well as for items like personal care products – shampoo’s and conditioners.

In 2007, the global HDPE market reached a volume of more than 30 million tons.

Source

Notes:

  • Weights may vary considerably as there is no standard size bottle

Purity of PET & HDPE Bales

As part of the Transparency which NLP will provide, NLP will further give accurate make up on the PET & HDPE bales which it receives for processing.

PET-A, PET-C and PET-G

PET is normally a semi-crystalline structure. For the fabric to become transparent, it is melted and suddenly cooled. Under this process the chains do not have the time to arrange themselves and are “frozen” in disorder. This PET is called PET-A (for amorphous) and is the material from which most beverage bottles, trays and blisters are made of today. If you give the same plastic time to get organized while cooling, crystalline PET-C would result. Both substances are chemically absolutely the same.
Who makes what is decided solely in the processing time. It is clear that PET-A and PET-C can be recycled together.

The problem with PET-A is that crystallization is only stopped. If the plastic is warmed up again to a certain extent (approx. 140 ° C), crystallization will still start and make the material cloudy and unsightly from a packaging perspective. The undesired cloudiness would arise if cups had to be sealed with protective films or PET-A was deep-drawn to produce cups and blisters. Solvents can also start the crystallization process to That’s why PET-A cannot be printed well.

To remedy this, PET-G was developed. During its manufacture, glycol is incorporated into the molecular threads made of PET. This makes the chains more difficult to build and to lose their ability to crystallize. The material is always crystal clear and can be heated and printed. It is less suitable for the production of bottles. And it is more expensive.

PET-G is difficult to distinguish from other PET. In addition, PET-G is often used in conjunction with PET-A for cost reasons. Since PET-G does not chemically correspond to PET-A or PET-C, it is difficult to recycle both substances together. In fact, PET is not just PET.

There are two ways to address this recycling problem.

The first way is to chemically recycle PET, i.e. the plastic is broken down into its individual building blocks. The glycol can be removed from the PET-G. Large quantities of waste plastic are required to build up chemical recycling. High investments are required. This path fails if the high investments are jeopardized by the fact that the material to be recycled is suddenly no longer available in the required quantities.

The second approach is to dispense with PET-G as a packaging material. There are absolutely comparable packaging solutions made from modified PP that would be significantly more recycling-friendly.

HDPE

HDPE can be sub-divided into two main grades based around the manufacturing process of the said end item, namely injection molding or by extrusion.

The two grades carry different MFI and viscosity properties.

Injection grade HDPE is normally used for hard plastics such as crates, buckets, etc. For Extrusion grade HDPE the end products are usually films, bottles or sheets.

In recycling world, the bottle grade of recycled HDPE is usually used to produce rHDPE for pipes and plastic packaging’s – and normally produces a higher commercial value end pellet when compared to the injection grade rHDPE.

Sometimes the HDPE used in the injection mold process can be blended with filler and or glass filler that will directly damage the value of the recycled HDPE flake.

As such, when recycling HDPE, it’s important to keep these two grades separated.